pgfert.blogg.se

David urbanic zoomify
David urbanic zoomify




david urbanic zoomify

The school approved my request to change my major toīecause this gave me the option to choose any art course in the entire school curriculum. Looking ahead, in 1947, I began to lift my Industrial Design ambitions to embrace the greater field of Art that lay before me. My instructors at the Art Institute were outstanding and I flourished in all my classes. I was drawn to the famous “Bauhaus” (Germany, 1919-1933) modernist design aesthetic that bore famous artist-teacher-educators like (1946) was in tune with my wishes since I had chosen “Industrial Design” for my career major. I made great use of the Library throughout my studies and it was like a second home. The Museum had an outstanding large Library, run by a Librarian. It was inspiring to study Art within such a richly endowed world class school and art museum. I was also fortunate to work, part-time, at the museum throughout my 7 years at the Institute. When I arrived at the Art Institute in 1946, it was a thrilling experience to daily pass by the museum galleries filled with great world art on the way to student classrooms. The School was the accredited private university that became an integral part of the Art Institute of Chicago in 1863. Bill art student at the famous Museum and School of the Art Institute of Chicago (1946-1953). Was rooted in my experience in Chicago, where I was a G.I. Within a month, I received a welcoming mail response in Iwo Jima and was highly excited. As the war came to a close, I addressed a letter from Iwo Jima to the Chicago Art Institute school, having convinced myself the integration of a great world class Art Museum and school, all in one package, was unique in the US. Later, overseas, in Iwo Jima, I was assigned to Air Force Combat Intelligence and prepared critical maps for fighter, P-51 pilots, whose mission it was to protect B-29 bombers over Japan. He lectured and trained me to do the same. We traveled together to train Air Base soldiers throughout California, Nevada and Utah. Having survived four years in the Army, Air Force found me applying my art skills with the art of camouflage, stateside in California, Nevada and Utah. World War 2 broke out as I turned 18 years of age in December, 1941, with my fate thus established. Bill opportunity to pursue my intense Interest in Art that occupied my early teen years. I thought a lot about the extraordinary G.I. Bill and School of the Art Institute Of Chicago






David urbanic zoomify